Northern Indiana Workforce Board

Press Enter to show all options, press Tab go to next option

 NIWB Banner

Northern Indiana Workforce Board Membership

The Board is Responsible for Indiana's Economic Growth Region 2, including Elkhart, Fulton, Kosciusko, Marshall and Saint Joseph Counties 

These individuals serve as members and officers of the Northern Indiana Workforce Board. Appointed by local government officials from five counties that comprise Indiana's Economic Growth Region 2.The board members serve as volunteers to help Northern Indiana stakeholders push for economic growth. 

The core responsibility of board members is to establish and oversee administrative and fiscal policies and procedures so that WorkOne Northern Indiana can operate efficiently and effectively to provide services to residents as well as employers in Region 2.


The Northern Indiana Workforce Board (NIWB) oversees all funding for WorkOne Region 2; the bulk of WorkOne's funding comes via public tax revenues under a federal formula administered by the U.S. Department of Labor.

Among other topics, members regularly discuss overarching ideas and proposals to strengthen the training, educational attainment, work- place readiness, and soft skills of a 312,000-person workforce (in Feb. 2016). The volunteer board is responsible for implementing the federal Workforce Innovation and Opportunity Act (WIOA), other federal laws and policies, and numerous Indiana policies.


 We exist to get people jobs as quickly as possible at the highest possible wage through EXTREME customer service.


To create a seamless workforce system, engaging employers, job seekers, and all those involved in training and providing services, to develop a strong workforce that meets the needs of the employers currently based in Region 2 and looking ahead to those industries interested in moving into Region 2.


  1. Data-driven – Demand driven system;
  2. Flexible – Ability to be mobile with services in the region;
  3. Innovative – Continually look for creative, continuous improvement;
  4. Problem-solvers – Find ways to meet employer needs and the needs to job seekers.


NIWB Board Members

David Walters, Past Chair
Gibson Insurance


Todd Bruce, Chair
Senior VP & Regional Manager
Lake City Bank


Anthony Flora, Secretary
North Central Indiana AFL-CIO Council


Robert Dunn, Treasurer
Managing Director ND NANO
University of Notre Dame


Perry Watson, Youth Committee Chair
Lexus of Michawaka


Mike Adams
Human Resource Manager
Rochester Metal Products Corp.


Rev. Dannell Brown
Agape Baptist Church


Dr. Tom Coley
IvyTech Community College/ North Central Region


Thomas Craig
Chief Financial Officer


Kim DeQuis
Regional Manager
State of Indiana - Voc-Rehab


John DeSalle
Hoosier Racing Tire Corp.


Steve Egyed
Apprentice Coordinator
IBEW-South Bend Electrical (JATC)


Dennis Hanna
Human Resources Director
Rieth-Riley Construction Inc.


Chad Hartzell
Executive Director
Talent & Organizational Development
Beacon Health System


Jack Isles
Bull Moose Tube


Mark King
President/ CEO
Greencroft Communities


Steve Ott
VP of Human Resources
Godfrey Marine


Shawn Peterson
Senior Counsel
Union Station


Jeff Rea
President/ CEO
South Bend  Regional Chamber of Commerce


George Robertson
Kosciusko Economic Development Corporation


Deb Sherwood
Adult Education Director
Plymouth Community School Corp.


Mart Smith
Smith Sawyer Smith Inc.


Greg Vollmer
President/ CEO
Northern Indiana Workforce Board


Pete Buttigieg
City of South Bend